Stuffed calamari

 

 

I’ll give you the recipe for my ½ kilo of little calamari, the measurements will be different probably when you us big ones so keep that in mind.

Stuffed Calamari

Ingredients

½ kilo Calamari

100 gram Rice (Arborio or another short grain rice)

3 Sun dried tomatoes

½ bunch Parsley

Squeeze of Lemon juice

Drizzle of Olive oil

½ big or 1 small Red onion

2 garlic cloves

Clean the clamari.

Cut the onion small. Cut the tentacles in rice size peaces.

Rinse the rice and cook it with the onion and a minimum amount of salted water until not quiet done. It will continue the process after you close the fire because it is a mass and later in the oven.

In the mean time, use a little food processor to make a paste of sun dried tomatoes, parsley, olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, pepper and salt. You can do it by hand but this requires a lot of small small cutting.

Mix the pesto and the tentacles with the rice and stuff the calamari with it.

Brush an oven dish with olive oil and lay the stuffed squid inside.

Bake them until done. I baked mine for about 15-20 minutes but try to adjust the time to the size of your calamari. Also keep in mind that if your rice is still warm, the baking time is shorter than when you made them up front and they are completely cooled.

 

3 thoughts on “Stuffed calamari

  1. True – larger calamari are easier. But the smaller the calamari, the more tender and sweeter the flavour (I don’t mind the extra fuss for a slightly better texture!). I also remove the outer skin and wings (I dust them with flour and snack on them while the rest cooks). It’s a vaniety, but it makes the outsides all white (although the purple and white against the red is pretty fabulous!).

  2. You have a point there, let’s keep the small ones for special days and the big ones when we’re just hungry for some stuffed calamari. I try to minimize the snacking during the cooking because I usually come to the dinner table not really hungry anymore but you just gave me a nice idea for those cute little wings. I have to say I was doubting about the skin as well. I ate them white in Greece but I just loved the pattern and color on them so I let them keep it.

  3. I haven’t tried making stuffed calamari, maybe because I still needed to learn more on how to properly clean it. It looks delicious though! Thanks for sharing this recipe.Hope you wont mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

