Lemon Chicken

Today I read about brining for the first time. This is a method to make your poultry nice and soft by soaking it in water with salt (and sugar, optional) for at least two hours to overnight. It makes the meat soft like with marinating and the salt increases the way the meat keeps its moisture. I never heard about it before but since it was just me and my boyfriend this night, I thought I could risk the experiment. Worst case we would eat a salty and chewy chicken but there were plenty of other things to eat beside chicken because meat or chicken is never the main component of my dinners. I would not write this recipe of course if it was not a success.

I have been planning to make lemon chicken for half a year already and I can’t believe I had never done it before. I came to the idea when I was living in Melbourne, I found a nice recipe in a cooking book and I add it to my to try list; unfortunately I lost it during travelling and with that the recipe crawled silently down the list. Now recently I am in such a lemony mood, I made lemon cake, preserved lemons, lemon cheesecake, lemonade, and I remembered the old recipe. I found another recipe to replace the lost one on a website called la tartine gourmande, I did not really keep to the recipe or quantities and added the onion.

Brining

2 cups cold water

4 tablespoons of salt

1 tablespoon fine sugar

Mix the water, sugar and salt. Put the chicken legs in the salty sweet water and leave it in the fridge for at least two hours.

Lemon Chicken

2 brined chicken legs

Juice of 1 lemon

4 lemon slices

1 tablespoon honey

2 tablespoons oil

2 teaspoons dried sage

1 small red onion

Preheat the oven to 180C.

Cut the red onion in half rings.

Mix in a baking dish the oil, lemon, honey, sage and red onion.

Take the chicken out of the water and shake of most of the water. Cover the chicken in the marinade and put the lemon slices on top. After half an hour put the lemon slices next to the chicken so the skin can get crisp, bake for 1 hour in total.

The skin should be golden brown and crisp when done.

And how stupid, I did not think about making a picture of these beautiful legs, hopefully next time I can make up for that.

One thought on “Lemon Chicken

  1. Pingback: Wild rice salad « Limonana

Leave a Reply

